BIC Subject Categories and Qualifiers

This is BIC’s Subject Categories and Qualifiers Scheme, version 2.1 released November 2010, the standard classification scheme for the UK book trade and some other English language markets, available from

Note that BIC has announced that there will be no further development of the BIC scheme, and that Thema is its preferred subject scheme for current and future use. Browse the latest version of the Thema international, multilingual subject category scheme here.

See the Search hints below

Code Description
4 Educational purpose qualifiers
Do not use “4” on individual books, as it is not a valid qualifier code; select appropriate qualifier code(s) from Section 4 below
4K Designed / suitable for UK curricula and examinations
4KD UK educational tests
4KH Designed / suitable for National Curriculum
4KL Designed / suitable for A and AS Level
4KM Designed for Key Skills
4KS Designed / suitable for Scottish examinations and grades
4KT Designed / suitable for Scottish Curruculum for Excellence (CfE) Levels
4KV Designed / suitable for UK vocational qualifications

Scheme © BIC 2010, interactive browser provided by EDItEUR. Cookies: this website uses only a single ‘session cookie’, which is necessary for provision of the service, and which is automatically deleted when you close your browser window.

Valid HTML 5 Valid CSS 2.1