BIC Subject Categories and Qualifiers

This is BIC’s Subject Categories and Qualifiers Scheme, version 2.1 released November 2010, the standard classification scheme for the UK book trade and some other English language markets, available from

Note that BIC has announced that there will be no further development of the BIC scheme, and that Thema is its preferred subject scheme for current and future use. Browse the latest version of the Thema international, multilingual subject category scheme here.

See the Search hints below

Code Description
4 Educational purpose qualifiers
Do not use “4” on individual books, as it is not a valid qualifier code; select appropriate qualifier code(s) from Section 4 below
4E ELT examinations and certificates
4EA Cambridge Young Learners English Tests
4EB Cambridge Level 1 Key English Test (KET)
4EC Cambridge Level 2 Preliminary English Test (PET)
4ED Cambridge Level 3 First Certificate in English (FCE)
4EF Cambridge Level 4 Certificate in Advanced English (CAE)
4EG Cambridge Level 5 Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE)
4EL Cambridge International English Language Testing System (IELTS)
4EN Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)
4EQ Certificate in Communicative Skills in English (CCSE)
4EX ELT examinations in English for specific purposes
4EZ Other ELT examinations

Scheme © BIC and Book Data 1998–2010; interactive browser provided by EDItEUR. Cookies: this website uses only a single ‘session cookie’, which is necessary for provision of the service, and which is automatically deleted when you close your browser window.

Valid HTML 5 Valid CSS 2.1